Posted by: EndlessTrail | September 29, 2005

Parting ways

The fellowship has shrunk. It is never at all a wonderful affair when someone from within the clique parts ways. It never was either. Still, that is all a part of life, isn’t it? People coming and going, something which one doesn’t really have any control over. Not all the time anyway. Some instances offer a little bit of control, some don’t.

In my friend’s instance, I don’t think there was any control over it. Then again, you almost never get any real control when you are in the military. Right on if you feel that being an officer or some oter higher ranking personnel with a platoon or several platoons of men under your charge as having control. To me, that’s control all right, but more of control over the men who come under you, not control over what matters to yourself.

And I strayed …

Back to the point again. It appears as though my friend didn’t have a choice. He was sent overseas by his military unit for work. I don’t think he has a choice in it. Looking at it this way, he’s being sent to a nearby asian country – a mere 3 hours flight away for a long 6 months. During that period, he is allowed to apply for leave, but is not allowed to fly back to Singapore. We figured that he’s able to fly to JB for visitations, since it would be convenient for us to just drive up to JB to meet him likewise. Appears to be a loophole in the system … or so it seems. If where he’s going offers some form of living quite like what we are used to, then I don’t see why not. However, since I’ve been to that same country as he is going, all I can say is that it’s a good place to go to, provided you are out to save almost every single cent that you are paid. I mean, what’s there to do when you’ve got nothing better to do after work? Not much shopping to do, not many areas to visit, no night-life whatsoever. Who in their right mind would agree to go there. Like I said, unless you are keen on saving every single cent paid to you, I don’t think you’ll voluntarily head there on your own account.

So, it probably was quite obvious that he was reluctant to head there. I would be too, if I were to leave behind a pretty and caring girlfriend, and all my bunches of friends spread out over the island. Not to forget family, and the fact that I’ll probably be spending the New Year and even Chinese New Year all alone. The only company would be the equipment and the other poor souls there.

That’s life, isn’t it? It’s all about change, and trying to look at the brighter side of things.

What if I were to face that same kind of situation in future. I mean, what if I were given the choice to head overseas in the near future. I don’t know if I’ll be able to drop everything just like that.

Only time will tell. Guess I’ll truely know myself should the time come.


Leave a comment

Categories